• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2007 Arctic Cat M8 hard to start when cold.

C
Oct 22, 2021
Bend OR
I am new to sledding (15 yrs old) . . . I just got my own 2007 Arctic Cat M8 and am very happy with it! The only issue so far is on a cold start. When the machine is cold (even at outside temps of 70ºF) it takes aboutnten pulls to fire up. At about 7 pulls, it will try to start but sputters out. . . . It does this for a couple pulls and then finally starts and runs well. After its been started up and is shut down . . . . only takes one pull to start from then on. Can't imagine how much harder it will be on the mountain at zero degrees! The plugs have been changed with new . . .don't know what else to try. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.

Coldfinger

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Nebraska
Not sure, but try holding the throttle lever open while trying to pull start. Sometimes when my 10 M8 wont start I do that and it takes right off. Make sure to have your brake set before starting in case it starts quickly.

W
Sep 21, 2021
Gresham. OR
I have an 09 800 that I had one year now. Out of the blue one trip last season we shut it down, rested a bit and to our surprise it would not fire. After 30 minutes of wiggling wires and such we were just about going to tow it and one more try I decided to depress throttle a bit an fired right up.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

G

greenmtnboys

Oct 12, 2009
BC
Try just opening the throttle a little and pulling it over if the throttle cables are too tight it could activate your throttle override switch.My sons did this and it would happen intermittently.We ended up disconnecting it but I don't recommend that as it is a safety switch.

Old & slow

Lifetime Membership
Feb 18, 2017
Alberta