• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

KX450F LED Headlight/lightbar install.

J
Apr 6, 2008
Just thought I would post the basics of my little project.
I'm getting a couple 2009 kx450's together here and wanted a headlight but unfortunately couldn't afford a plug-and-play kit from the big name aftermarket headlight guys. (Though they look great and would love the simplicity)

So..... as an alternative this is what I did.....

I first of all would like to say that I am no professional and I'm sure this set up could be improved on. I'm sure somebody out there will identify what I should have done differently but hopefully this will hold up as I did the same thing to both bikes!
The whole set up cost about $50 and seems to work great! Haven't gotten to use them while riding yet so we'll see!

-No battery.
-$25 Kawell brand light bar off Amazon. Part #CM-SL3030E
-$9 switch
-in line mini fuse holder with 7.5 amp fuse
-Some wire, waterproof connectors, ring terminals, zip ties and optional male/female connectors of some sort if you want your light to be removable easily.
-1 inch flat stock aluminum

I have both model light bars. We'll see which one is better. The CM-SL3060E is a 60 degree flood and the CM-SL3030E is a 30 degree beam. Asthetically they are identical.Both are aluminum body's and seem very well made!
They are super bright and so far don't seem to affect the bike.
I tapped into power at the orange wire coming out of the condenser and grounded the light on a bolt right behind it that was already being used for just that.

I fabled up some brackets, put some slightly longer stainless bolts in my awesome Fastway handguard mounts and mounted to them.

A little fabricating and the number plate was back on and we're good to go!

Woo hoo!